Project Background Project Objectives
In 2015 the IDB was asked by the GoRTT to support an investment programme aimed at enhancing the competitiveness of non-hydrocarbon sectors of Trinidad and Tobago’s economy through investments in innovation.

A number of consultancies were undertaken within the technical cooperation agreement that was established to coincide with the investment programme. These consultancies were intended to define a strategic roadmap that would be instrumental in guiding policy-making in the closely related areas of competitiveness, economic diversification and innovation.

In particular, a consultancy on Technological Foresight was geared at strengthening the capacity of the Economic Development Advisory Board (EDAB) in order to maximize the impact of GoRTT’s interventions and innovation investments over the medium and long term.

Through discussion with the EDAB, the IDB selected the IfM ECS / Policy Links Unit of the University of Cambridge to execute the consultancy

The aims of the Technological Foresighting consultancy are as follows:

  • Identify areas of market potential in which non-hydrocarbon firms/sectors in Trinidad and Tobago may develop research and technological innovation with commercial potential.
  • In consultation with the GORTT and other relevant stakeholders, identify a short list of areas (minimum of three core technologies / industrial sectors) for in-depth analysis to assess how these areas might benefit from research and innovation efforts. The short list of areas for in-depth analysis is to be identified according to their strategic importance for Trinidad and Tobago’s further development.
  • Inform the research and innovation strategy of centres of excellence which are expected to work on the specific identified areas.


The project will last for approximately 7 months from February to August 2017 and will include 3 field visits by the Cambridge team to T&T.

A Steering Committee has been established to provide strategic and tactical guidance for this project. The Committee is chaired by the EDAB and comprises:

  • Socio-economic Policy Planning Division, Ministry of Planning and Development (MPD)
  • The National Institute for Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST)
  • EDAB Secretariat

Representatives from other government ministries, such as the Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of Trade and Industry, or private entities may be co-opted as appropriate.

Project Approach
The project work has been divided into five work packages (WPs) that respond to three guiding questions, as illustrated below.